Poets logo

The Gap at Sycamore Gap

A tree, standing alone, next to Hadrian's Wall, has been felled deliberately by a teenager, altering the landscape of Sycamore Gap forever

By Rachel DeemingPublished 7 months ago β€’ 3 min read
14
The sycamore at Sycamore Gap - picture taken by author 2022

When I heard that the tree was no more at Sycamore Gap, I felt a sadness at its demise. We had just been warned of Storm Agnes which was approaching the UK with its windy savagery, churning up grey skies and heralding the beginning of colder, darker days. I thought that it was Agnes who had felled the tree but this was not the case. She had other havoc to wreak.

No, Sycamore Gap had a human enemy: a teenager is believed to have taken a chainsaw and deliberately cut it down. Reasons are not clear for his motive at this time but there is no doubt that this act does not come from a place of happiness.

I felt compelled to write about it, like Mike Singleton did, although for different reasons. He lives closer to it whereas I have merely been a visitor, but still, it occupies a significant place in my memories - good memories -and deserves any tribute that I can offer it.

And so, here goes.

***

A tree was felled, a youth accused:

An act to keep himself amused?

It seems a callous way to act

A tree is dead and can't come back.

There was a gap, a sycamore

How did it find the fertile floor

To plant itself in such a spot?

Perhaps wind driven? Or bird dropped?

I like to think it chose it there;

The seed was very much aware

Of how the placement of its trunk

Would please so many with its bulk.

The place it chose has kudos still:

From manifestation of Rome's will

To conquer and resist with strength

Marauding hoards with fierce intent:

The wall will stay across the gap

But a wound's been opened by the lack

Of its solid presence in that groove,

Its attraction continually proved.

Now, there's just a bit of rubble

That section barely worth the trouble:

An historical site without its spread

Of dark green leaves above your head.

I have stood beneath your canopy

A gift that was bestowed on me;

A family trip, three generations,

To trudge and hike in veneration

To a feat of engineering

On the landscape, domineering

For miles and miles from coast to coast

Illustrating Hadrian's boast

That he could protect and drive the Picts

To stay behind stones and sticks.

*

The rain was pelting down that day.

I struggled hard to find the way

Across the gleaming rounded stones;

Hadrian's wall's very bones

Under my feet, a disordered jumble

Designed to make me take a tumble.

My family moving off ahead,

Old men, children, husband-led

Down steep stone paths, prepared to trip;

A clumsy hiker, my ample hips

And confidence quaked with every inch;

But drive I found, at a pinch,

To continue through rain soaked glass

To where you stood proud from the grass.

*

A celebrity tree, a poster tree,

Viewed from afar by tourists many

Solitary; standing in the gap,

Just existing there with no mishap.

Until the day the engine roared

Your beauty severed and easily floored,

To lie in pieces by the wall

No longer the focus of visitors' thrall.

I saw the cut the young man made,

A clean one, golden rings displayed.

I hated it: your insides out

Horizontal, branches out

Limbs splayed and trapped by dirty ground

Unable to float on wind inbound.

I wish it was Agnes who'd brought you down

And not the hand of some human clown;

As something natural occurring

Not slicing blades, oily and whirring

Doesn't seem so bad somehow -

Just Nature and its weather plough.

*

I'm glad I saw you at your best

Summer blousiness, leaves all dressed

And thank you for the shelter given

Protection from rain's steady river.

*

I wish that you could still be there.

I wish that you could still be there.

*

My son and husband (and uncle's arm) sheltering at Sycamore Gap

The sycamore with humans less intent on destruction

The link to Mike's piece is here too:

Thanks for stopping by and please do leave a comment. I love to interact with the readers of my writing.

social commentarysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetryheartbreak
14

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • π‘πŒ π’π­π¨πœπ€π­π¨π§7 months ago

    This is so heartbreaking. Your poignant poem is a fitting tribute. Beautifully done, Rachel.

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I too have been on that three generation hike, though my children were smaller, and the day was bright. I too felt I might write something for the tree. I was startled though. I had read that Micheal Gambon died and I thought "oh, sad", and then I was working in the garden, and my partner arrived home from work. He told me and I had a visceral response of sadness and anger. I wanted, later, to story it to find some compassion, for my own sake, not theirs, but I've not had my heart in creating this week.

  • Yes, I read Mike's piece and was so sad! Your poem was a beautiful tribute!

  • Test7 months ago

    Oh my God. I have tears in my eyes. How could he? Beautifully written-almost feel it could be modified a little for the silent challenge? The tree tells such a beautiful story through you 🀍

  • Gerard DiLeo7 months ago

    If a chainsaw's engine roars and there's no one there to hear it... If a vandal vandalizes, and there is no mind there to think about it... The pathos here is so well evoked.

  • Gerald Holmes7 months ago

    This is so beautifully told. Your poem is such a great tribute! We do stupid things when we are kids that, most of us grow to regret as we age.

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Fantastic! Wonderfully written and beautiful!

  • Yusuf Alam7 months ago

    β™₯οΈπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ

  • C.S LEWIS7 months ago

    this is great work you can also join my friends and read what i have just prepared for you

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    How bizarre. Such a Beautiful tree.. what an absolute shame. Lovely snaps and a terrific poem Rachel.

  • Thank you so much for this wonderful tribute after this awful act of vandalism, and thank you for the shout out

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.