Poets logo

The Full Blood Moon

Intense

By Analise DionnPublished 3 years ago β€’ Updated 2 years ago β€’ 2 min read
20
The Full Blood Moon
Photo by Jonny Clow on Unsplash

Full Blood Moon or

Hunter's Moon

Call it what you will

Acknowledging intensity

In the days before

My heart ached

Squeezing pressure and

A toughness that didn't want to let go.

πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€

But I could still breathe

Deep breaths and

A wandering mind.

Where was the root?

The root of the pain

That was squeezing my heart

Threatening to destroy

All that is good.

πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€

This year The Hunt

Is not about food

I must find the monster

That threatens to devour me

When darkness falls

Acknowledging intensity

Pressure

Squeezing at my heart

πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€

The day before the Blood Moon crests

Full and glorious

In the night sky

The Warrior Hunter

Dives deep

Into the Heart of the Hoard

Boxes unopened for decades

Sensing demons hiding there.

πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€

Acknowledging intensity

Urgency behind the desire

To cleanse the Heart completely

Deep breaths

In preparation

To confront the demons

Hiding in the depths

Of the Hoard

πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

I felt them

For a fleeting moment

Before it was uncovered

The plain brown box

Covered in decades of dust.

Saying a prayer

I summoned the courage

To see what demons

Lurked there

πŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’ž

Assaulted!

A flood of memories

In a book from childhood

Used to instill fear and

Ensure compliance

Photos of The Most Evil Warlock

Holding me tightly

Smiling with glimmering eyes

πŸ’”πŸ’žπŸ’”πŸ’žπŸ’”πŸ’žπŸ’”πŸ’žπŸ’”

Summoning comfort

From deep breath

And prayers

I dig deeper

Uncovering His curse

Carved with His own hands

Intent on my destruction

How had I never sensed them

Hidden in the Heart of my home?

πŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’ž

Gathering the items

Setting my intentions

Under the light

Of The Full Blood Moon

White candles burn

Crystals glimmer

Prayers are cast

'Cleanse My Home,

My Heart, My Soul and My Family.'

Tonight His curse will burn.

πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

If you have a passion for writing, consider joining Vocal+! Get paid and enter awesome writing challenges!

If you have enjoyed this piece please feel free to share it with friends, subscribe to be kept up-to-date when I publish new articles. Tips are also always welcome!

surreal poetry
20

About the Creator

Analise Dionn

This life began with trauma. Now married, with 2 adult children and raising a grandchild with FASD/PTSD/ADHD. Navigating this very personal journey of healing with ADHD, thriving after a lifetime of abuse... all through the grace of God.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.