Poets logo

The Frog's Friendship

The Frog's Friendship

By Deanna CassidyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
The Frog's Friendship
Photo by Karl-Heinz Müller on Unsplash

Once there was a lonely frog who loved to eat bugs and swim underwater.

One day, the frog approached a goose and said, "Good morning, Goose. Would you like to be my best friend?"

The goose hissed at the frog. "Stay away from me and my babies!" she declared.

The frog felt sad. "I just want to be friends."

"I don't want to be friends right now," the goose said. "I'm not comfortable. I would rather you leave me and my goslings alone."

"All right," the frog said. "Have a nice day."

The frog hopped away and ate some bugs.

Later, the frog encountered a duck. "Good afternoon, Duck. Would you like to be my best friend?"

"Sure!" the duck responded. "Come fly with me!"

"I can't fly," the frog replied. "Can you swim underwater with me?"

"I can swim on top of the water," the duck said. "Sometimes I plunge down a little, but never swim all the way under water."

The frog and duck realized they could be friends, but they couldn't enjoy their favorite activities together. They said goodbye in a very cheerful way. Then the frog hopped away and ate more bugs.

Finally, the frog met a turtle.

"Hello, Turtle," the frog said. "Would you like to be my best friend?"

"Hm. Maybe," the turtle said. "Do you like eating bugs?"

"I love eating bugs!" the frog declared.

"Do you like swimming underwater?" the turtle asked.

"I love swimming underwater!" the frog replied. "It's my favorite thing!"

The turtle smiled. "I think we can be best friends!"

The frog and the turtle swam underwater together, and ate a lot of bugs. Sometimes, they saw the duck and stopped to chat for a while. Other times, they saw the goose, and gave her plenty of space. The frog and turtle remained best friends for years to come.

childrens poetry
2

About the Creator

Deanna Cassidy

(she/her) This establishment is open to wanderers, witches, harpies, heroes, merfolk, muses, barbarians, bards, gargoyles, gods, aces, and adventurers. TERFs go home.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.