Poets logo

The Forgotten Toy

A perspective piece on the life of an old bear.

By Jessica FeralPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I used to be quite furry, but now I'm worn and bare.You loved me lots, you loved me most, and said you would always be there. There were others, shiny new toys that made noise, trains and planes and dolls, and other bears that had more hair, but you loved me most of all. Every night I fought the bad dreams, I chased away your fears! Until one day, you threw me down, and you forgot that I was here.. It's been so many years of me lying all alone, I know you're really busy now but I'll never give up hope. I'm under here among the shoes, the dust, the clothes, the books. I hear you every night in bed and wish I was still snuggled close. It's been so long since I've seen your face, my gosh is it really you? You look so much older now, and I guess that I must to. I don't think you meant to grab me, I was lying close to your sweater. But when you saw me your eyes widened and you grinned from ear to ear. I can't believe it, back on the bed, what a view of our old room! You've moved a few things around I see, as you flop down next to me. I love you lots, I love you most, I'm so glad you remember me.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Feral

I'm Jessica, a mom to three, feminist, art enthusiast, punk rocker, video game lover who can't ever find her glasses and loves to write. I swear too much, I don't drink enough water, and I'm an Aries and a huge nerd.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.