Poets logo

The Forever One

Your First Love Always Owns the Most of Your Heart

By Michael GrubePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
2008

Help me, my love, for I am confused

By all the outside influences fused.

Elders, teachers, preachers, and all

Say our love will not last at all.

They say our love is only small,

But tell, my love, the lie is tall.

Say our love is forever; seal it with a kiss.

But, my love, there is something I cannot hide.

A feeling inside which doubts our love.

Be not fearful. For take feeling as it is, a feeling.

Put no foundation in a feeling,

Nor images of stone upon emotion.

For feelings and emotions swell as the tide;

So cast down these and tell how love is true.

The kind spoken in sonnet one-sixteen.

I know that you are the one.

I know for certain there is no other.

No one as lovely, nor as special.

Thank you, my love, for being honest;

Not with your words, but with your eyes.

Your eyes are as amber wells of truth,

That speak far louder than any vocal key.

And if they could truly speak would say,

There is no doubt within the heart.

You are the only, and forever, one for me.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Michael Grube

I am 36 years old, an Army veteran, and officially divorced. I have been writing since i was young and have always been told that I have a knack for it. I've tried my writing a few novels, but my heart lies within poetry and journalism.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.