Poets logo

The Flame That Burned Itself Out

A Five-Act Play

By Adam EvansonPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
1
The Flame That Burned Itself Out
Photo by Cullan Smith on Unsplash

When first you came

Into my life

A burning desire

Yearned to be quenched

***

I felt your flame

Love cut like a knife

I bathed in your shower

Until my soul was drenched

***

I lost all shame

Naked and afraid

I mislaid my power

From me it was wrenched

***

When first you came

To destroy my soul

You took my heart

And swallowed it whole

***

The light went out

Dust on the floor

You tore me apart

I was no more

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.