Poets logo

The Fish, the Man, the Wind, and Me

...While Holding the Coffee Pot

By Sarah MishlerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I went off to work like I typically do,

But stopped by the crick for a minute or two.

Most days more recently, I’d started to dream,

Of what life could be like, if I were actually me.

I untied my apron, and let it fall from my waist.

I removed my name tag,

It didn’t belong in this place.

I slipped off my shoes, dipped my toes in the crick.

When I noticed a bag, stuck in some sticks.

I reached down and grabbed it, and pulled it ashore.

Then saw something twinkling, hard to ignore.

A sparkly fish with a plastic ring on his head

Swam up to my toes in the water and said:

“Please give to me, man is polluting the sea.

If we could be heard and our sadness be seen,

We'd be protected, live healthy and free.”

I apologized and said:

“I’m sorry dear friend, I have no riches, I'm poor,

I’m not worth that much anymore.”

The fish said, “Oh, but look in that sack. It’s yours for a reason,

To give it back.”

I counted 200 dollars, 100 times.

All the things I could do with it danced in my mind.

The fish, still there, said, “Please give to me.”

I asked it, “How much?”

“Enough to pay for an environmental lawyer,

…and get a Starbucks”.

So, I handed him a big wad.

And as he swam away, I felt kind of funny.

Who knew what a fish would do with that money?

Feeling kind of cold, I pulled my toes from the water.

Best to sit back on the land and not go out any farther.

A homeless man looking weathered and wearied,

Hobbled up to the crick, and sat down near me.

He held a ceramic mug, which I thought kind of strange.

He dumped out his coffee and motioned for change.

I reached in the bag, and clutched an amount,

Enough for that man to fill his account.

He ran off on legs, now sturdy and hardy,

Jumped in his new car- a bright red Ferrari.

He sped away, and I felt kind of funny.

What would he do with all that money?

The fish was gone. The man had left.

I wondered who would show up next?

I grabbed the bag, and climbed a tree,

To hide myself, in its leaves.

And just when I thought I could keep the rest;

The branches began to shake with aggress.

The wind I always thought to be free,

Demanded retribution, and started to sneeze.

I felt guilty for contributing to its wearisome cry,

I grabbed the bag and threw it up to the sky.

Away all those dollars flew.

Into the gray,

But once blue.

The breeze swirled away, confettied with green,

Was it enough to help it get clean?

I snuggled back in the crook of the tree,

Took a deep breath and drifted to sleep.

“Excuse me!”

My eyes opened wide.

“Excuse me ma’am!”

A hand raised in the air.

“Bring me another chocolate éclair!”

I blinked the tree from my eyes,

Blinked the crick from my mind.

I was back in the diner, apron tied tight.

A pot of hot coffee, distant look on my face.

It happened again.

I got lost in that place.

When the people were gone, and all had been cleaned,

I counted my tips and I started to dream.

I grabbed from my apron, my little black book.

I slid the cash in with the orders I took.

I cleaned up the floor, put the dishes away,

Drove home past the crick and thought of my day.

And when I was done and had given it all, my lump of money had gotten quite small.

A few dollar bills were all that remained.

What could I do if I had it again?

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Sarah Mishler

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.