Poets logo

The Fish in the Trees

A Poem About the Surreal and the Magical

By ebube orjiakorPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
The Fish in the Trees
Photo by Daniele Levis Pelusi on Unsplash

I saw a fish in the trees

Swimming through the branches

With its fins and its scales

Glittering in the sun.

I reached up to touch it

But it slipped away

Into the leaves

And was gone.

I looked around

But there was no one else

Who had seen the fish

In the trees.

I wondered if I had imagined it

But I knew I hadn't

Because I could still see the ripples

Where it had swum.

I never saw the fish again

But I never forgot it

Because it was a reminder

That anything is possible.

I thought about the fish

For days and weeks

And months and years.

I wondered where it came from

And where it went.

I wondered what it meant

To see a fish in the trees.

I came to believe

That the fish was a symbol

Of hope and possibility.

It was a reminder

That we can achieve anything

If we set our minds to it.

The fish in the trees

Was a gift

From the universe

To remind us

That anything is possible.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

ebube orjiakor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.