Poets logo

The first time I saw you since

a poem

By Taylor DoylePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

It wasn’t as awkward as when you butt-dialed me a few years ago

To tell me later that all you wanted was to hear my voice.

It wasn’t as nearly as gut wrenching as stopping at the red light,

Looking to my left to see your smile in her passenger seat.

It wasn’t as shameful as wishing that you were happy with her

While hoping that you still thought my jokes were better.

It wasn’t as silent as after you confessed that I deserve someone who actually loved me

And I asked why that couldn’t be you.

It was walking into your sandwich shop with the love you promised I’d someday find-

A brief meeting at the intersection of my past and future.

It was the way you searched my left hand for another man’s ring-

A promise, you never would have been able to keep.

It was small talk: you asked about my mom and the weather-

A friendly reminder that everything we are has changed, but at least the sky is still blue.

It was the first time I had ever seen you smile from under a mask-

A hope that you still found reasons to smile during the pandemic.

It was the first time I thanked you and said goodbye out of all the times I’d left-

A peaceful, knowing acceptance and a genuine thank you—

Thank you for everything.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Taylor Doyle

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rich R.about a year ago

    This poem has some very relatable themes and feels very conversational. The line about being between the past and future feels like an affirmation of the present while also describing the growth that has been achieved. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.