Poets logo

The Fireplace

A poem about Abuse.

By A.P.M Published 10 months ago 1 min read
1

There's a fire that stays lit in the very pit of my stomach.

It burns when he raises his voice,

It burns when his knuckles clinch, they shift from pink to stark white,

It burns when his spit splashes on my face,

It burns when my skin turns red in his hands,

I've starved this fire,

abandoned it,

flooded it,

snuffed it out,

the soot floats its way up through my organs,

my bones,

my blood,

Steam travels out of my ears,

I exhale the dark matter, cough up the sickness, purge the poison,

Yet

My fingertips are still blackened, my eyes still red, my lips chapped,

There is no end, no healing, no rebirth,

Though steam has replaced the flame,

The burns still remain.

slam poetryCONTENT WARNINGperformance poetrysad poetryheartbreak
1

About the Creator

A.P.M

Greetings and salutations, my name is Allie and I'm an aspiring author and poet. I'm currently in my junior year of college studying social media marking and business administration.

Instagram: @ohallison_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.