Poets logo

The Final Collegiate Affair Scare

From The Workshop Collection

By Marc OBrienPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Lithuanian/American Author/Poet Marc O'Brien

What remains is

Of my beloved sis

I brought her to the frat house

Thinking she was going to be my spouse

Quiet like a mouse

She was

Feeling a buzz

Knowing I had my lovely cheese in a trap

Still angry from our debatable flap

She claims Delta something or other

Attractive to be someone’s lover

That is right she came to university to be a mother

Getting pinned as a Mrs. Nurse

I the gullible husband would carry the financial purse

After we received our degree

When will be a suitable time to be you and me?

That is when I got her alone

Even made her turn off her cell phone

Saying we must pick this final conversational bone

“Did you purchase that special graduating commitment ring?

I want to be your Queen and you the King

In a family household

Where we will not be cold,”

That is when I stoked the fire

Knowing things that made her a liar

Taking the spear from the heated logs

I placed the javelin weapon through the hog

Piercing her heart

That split a part

Before igniting in flames

Wondering who was to blame

“You my love

Are not above

My true reason

Now stop your teasing

I will now go about my personal biz

And look for a second miss

That is my true wish

Someone else lured for the eternal kiss

Years since have passed

Death for me will be coming fast

Confrontation I never had

From that day where I did something bad

Without any concern

I did return

To the campus where she was placed in an urn

And of course, did earn

The Bachelor’s degree

That was put on the wall for all to see

There they were all in their gowns

Excitingly smiling no need for a frown

Pictures taken wearing caps and robes

Ready to accept the adult challenges on this globe

Moving the tassel

Without a hassle

In the right direction

Confirming academic protection

Soon they will be dressed in scrubs ready to perform

Operating in the room keeping the patient warm

For a second a memory came to mind

A nursing student who was truly kind

Someone who I took out to dinner

Always telling me I was the bread winner

Observing the new pinning nurse's line

I could not decline

An invisible ghost

Preparing a roast

“She is here

This is getting very weird”

Still in the uniform tight

And white

Soothing attitude to those with a sudden fright

“Why did you break my heart

And split it apart?”

A question raised to exam

That was her haunting plan

“Where do I start?”

I asked from my pulsating heart

Recounting the murderous task

Miss Doe first name

Jane

Most wanted me to explain

“I need an answer,

From you my cancer”

“Soon I will be dead”

In quiet prayer I said

Having a conversation in my head

“That is when

I will defend

And mend,”

My debatable decision

Stating my position

To take a wife

Or a life

It was then my organ ticker stopped its beat

She turned on the heat

“It is time for me to attack

Using this hinted whack”

Displaying the angelic snake and cross

A BSA graduate came over to be a boss

Hard they pushed on my chest

Not a second to rest

It is time to confess

This Saintly golden aurora glared

A stare

Enjoying my scare

Laying there now in peace

Future health heroes declaring me deceased

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.