Poets logo

The fear in me

The colour of my fears

By Lucille HamiltonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Show me the light in the dark

What are you afraid of? He asks with a glimmer in his eye

How much do you want to know? I respond, of course, I’m afraid to die

Each fear merits a colour, in my little book of honesty

White is the fear that I don’t truly know me

Blue is for the crashing water, for the day that I almost drown

And also for the fear, that I’ll ever make you frown

Pink is for my fears as a woman

Cover up, be beautiful, fear the man

Purple is for leaving my childhood behind

No more innocence in this grown up mind

Red is the fear that I’ll never be enough

Will you decide to leave me when the going gets tough

Silver are the words ‘I just don’t love you anymore’

What if you feel the same as he, my heart would not resurge from the floor

Amber is the fear that I’ll always be waiting for something more

Can I be happy if I never leave the shore

Yellow is fearing that I am a bad daughter

How can I help you, when your whole life you’ve felt like a lamb to the slaughter

Gold is the fear that the moon and stars could fade away

When all that’s left is a black sky and we did not appreciate today

My fears are my own, and alone I will wallow

But in my heart I can seek solace, and my heart I must follow

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Lucille Hamilton

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.