Poets logo

The Fear in Joy

After The Parade

By Paula ShabloPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Pixabay Free Image

We march through the streets dressed in rainbows and smiles

Dancing and waving at cheering crowds

But even as I wave, I can see them—

The haters behind the smiles

Billy-Bob waving his rifle over his head

And gesturing at the parade

His chin pointing out the colorfully clad dancers

As if making a list

I know that guy—am I on it?

The woman grasping the hand of her son

And pulling him through the cheering audience,

Hectoring him: “Hurry up! You don’t need to see this!”

Even the poorest of lip-readers could see it

She looks just like my neighbor

We nod to each other over our mailboxes

Before hurrying back inside our semi-safe homes

Was that really her?

I can feel the smile slipping off my face

And falling to the pavement beneath my feet

I stomp on it as we march by

I don’t know how to retrieve it now

Lyn says “Never mind, it’s fine

“Remember how far we’ve come.”

But the two-mile parade feels decades long

And there’s still so far to go

And my feet hurt almost as much as my heart

As I search the crowd for genuine smiles

I know they are out there

I know they are

But after the parade

All I feel is exhaustion and fear

Will I never belong?

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Paula Shablo

Daughter. Sister. Mother. Grandma. Author. Artist. Caregiver. Musician. Geek.

(Order fluctuates.)

Follow my blog at http://paulashablo.com

Follow my Author page at https://www.amazon.com/Paula-Shablo/e/B01H2HJBHQ

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabulous!!!👏💖😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.