Poets logo

The Fall

You Were My Greatest Heartbreak

By Mercedes ChavezPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
Rose's Shadow by Mercedes Chavez

Heartache was inevitable

It was clear from the beginning

But the heart refused to be confined by the

Restraints placed on it

One good look into your eyes

And I felt my heart reach for yours

I tried with all my might to pull away

But seeing your smile

I stopped fighting it

Hearing your laugh

I could no longer hear reason

Feeling your touch

I ached for you

Your lips against mine

There would never be anything that tasted sweeter

I took a step forward

Opened my heart against all warnings

And I fell...

Already knowing how the story would end.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Mercedes Chavez

Come with me, lets go on an adventure together, see the world through my eyes, let me paint a picture with my words, I promise you will be able to feel what I felt the first time I experienced it. Love, sadness and everything in between.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so poignant. Loved your poem and your photo was stunning!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.