Poets logo

The Fall & The Summer

A Reflection in Two Parts

By Justin BlackPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photograph by Justin Black

I.

I will be here

Tending to the weeds

And always looking towards the ivy

For black smoke and autumn musk

I’ll seek you by the fireside, when the

Leaves have all fallen

And the world is still and brown

I’ll bring you a mug and meet you

In wooden chairs we will sit

And smile and talk and laugh

And I’ll probably cry,

Photograph by Justin Black

2.

I am your red jumper

Wishing I’d be stolen away

My passport is packed

I am a broad stroke

Prepared for nothing and ready, ready

For everything, on a cool day in LA

I am right here still standing

A network body in hoop earrings

Waiting on the sidewalk beside a red car

I am the dirtiest thing

My breasts are green

The sunset in my eyes is orange

I am not small in any ways

But there is a subtle ness to my spirit

An eastern sunrise in my smile

I am a bottle on the nightstand

A Leonard Cohen song stuck between my lips

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Justin Black

I write mostly poetry that flows from feelings, and I enjoy accidental and intentional rhyme.

All photographs are my own

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.