Poets logo

The Fairy Princess Returns

Grief finds a light

By Dale AllmanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
That fairy light

"From the darkness into light

Hearkening back to days of old

The fairy princess comes again

Returning to the fold"

"Bringing tales of glory

With her magic spells

Warming hearts and minds

Out of stories bold"

"Winged creature of the forest

Mountain glens ablaze

With fairy lights and sounds

Only whispers on the wind"

"Delicate wings so strong in flight

Woven from the tapestries

Of woodland mysteries

Beating now softly gliding"

"Lights warm and glowing

Reminders of tall tales heard

Stories meant for warmth and comfort

Leading out to unseen miracles"

"Flying faster than the eye can see

Slowing only to confirm my wonder

At how lovely beauty sounds

Whirring like machinery"

"Meant to build up pleasure

In the sights of mortal man

Delight and awe inspired

Belief in unseen powers"

"Capturing me not her

With soft breaths upon my cheek

Wondering where the wind

Will carry her today"

"Cryptic messages with fleeting depth

At once convinced

Of beating hearts

Combined in bliss"

"Then gone again so quickly

Like nothing ever there

But knowing once the comfort

Of fairy tales everywhere"

"Seeking that kiss upon the wind

Following in footsteps and wing beats

Rhythms heard and felt

In light and warmth before"

"She knows my wanderlust

Following or leading not sure

But always there

Until we meet again"

"That brief glimpse of beauty flight

Shown only to a few

Choices made by unseen forces

Not by me or you"

"Craving more than most

I seem to cry out loud

“Where are you my princess”

“What mission takes you close by”"

"Only to lose you in the darkness

Despite my fiery eyes

Thinking I could see you there

Or be beside your flight"

"Not knowing where or why

We might meet again

But feeling secure in feeling

My fairy princess returns"

"Always coming back to me

No matter where I turn

Or what may make me stumble

I need only stop and listen"

"Hearing that winged beat

In an instant on my feet

Searching piercing eyes

Through darkness into light"

"Then feeling breaths of wind

Again and again

She returns to me that flurry

Swirling eddy of fairy wings"

"Telling stories not yet heard

Of heroics and conquests

In fairy land no doubt

She reigns with power"

"Mighty energy unbounded

In flight or fancy

Warmest hearts of glee

Fetching to measure"

"Fairy wings bring light

Stirring time and space

Into other worlds

Horizon’s bliss no doubt"

"Forest strangely quiet

Beating wings and winds

Taking all the air sounds

Lifting lightness all around"

"Darkness receding

With sounds of fairy wings

Light spilling over me

Without pause or fear"

"The fairy princess has returned

All quiet now to see

Beauty and magic

Only meant for me"

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Dale Allman

Dale started writing and proofreading at a very young age, after school in his parents newspaper. Corporate career, numerous awards and recognition followed. Dale writes now to inform, uplift and entertain.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.