Poets logo

The Facts of Life

A collection of poems about what we need to know to be successful in life

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
The Facts of Life
Photo by Sarah Dorweiler on Unsplash

1. Respect Doesn’t Grow On Trees (brevity)

By Tushar Rathour on Unsplash

Respect doesn't grow on trees

You have to earn it

With your behaviour.

You work to get respect

It can't be picked off

A tree branch.

By FRAMEFABLE on Unsplash

2. Don’t Let Your Feelings Prevail (free-verse)

By Brock Wegner on Unsplash

Take charge

use the remote control

to press

any buttons you want

Feelings and thoughts

are like TV channels

Pick which channels

you watch on TV

Pick which feelings and thoughts

you have each day

By Kiran CK on Unsplash

3. Bucket (tanka)

By Jeff Kingma on Unsplash

I carry one large

bucket that's as heavy as

a massive golden trophy.

It reminds me to recall

every person that loves me.

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

4. How Full Is My Cup? (free-verse)

By Alex Padurariu on Unsplash

It may or may not

be filled to the top.

It doesn't matter

how full my cup is.

I'm satisfied with

the amount of hot cocoa

I have in my cup

at the moment.

I drink whatever

is in my cocoa cup.

I'm happy as

a kid playing in the playground.

By Sam Hojati on Unsplash

5. Footsteps (cinquain)

By Genevieve Dallaire on Unsplash

Walking

on my own lane

with my own legs and feet

finding the directions I want

to take.

By Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

6. Paths (cinquain)

By Luke Stackpoole on Unsplash

Roads

to follow

with your own car

and determination to change

your life.

By Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Thank you so much for taking the time to read another one of my Vocal poetry collections. I hope these poems inspired you, just as much as they inspired me. If you enjoyed reading these poems, please give it a ❤️, share it with others and don't hesitate to send me a tip to show your appreciation, support and interest. To read and find more of my Vocal poems, stories and articles, subscribe to me and visit my public profile at any time. Please feel free to connect and follow me on Instagram. Stay blessed and stay positive!

IG Account: @naturalbibliophile22

Blessed Forever (as you can see in the design below). Design created by me on www.canva.com

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.