Poets logo

The Facial recognition dilemma

We cannot hide

By Novel AllenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2022
18
Tony Liao - unsplash

My phone, though inanimate, knows me

Facially recognizes me all the time

Knowing my every move, knows me

Apparently maybe better than I know myself

Hi face, it smilingly greets me

How are you today

Well, middle finger off, I show it who is boss!

Isn't it a glorious day today?

What do you care, stupid phone

You ride around on my shoulder

Or in my pocket

Do you even have a care in the world

Except to yell about my bills

And remind me to make the forever

Dredge filled rotating door journey

To my wonderful unfulfilling day job

My computer knows me, knows my touch

Would that you were my lover

Knowing my secret touch

You watch me as if you were that

Creepy computer, with your logarithms and codes

You store me in your database like money in the bank

You scan the bio-metrics of my face

Your software stores me in your memory

Better than a lover you are, I think

Because you never forget me, matters what

Still, I want my privacy back

I am the only one who should know my face

Cameras everywhere know me

Digitally I am known everywhere

On the streets, in every mishmash of life

Everything knows me, I am not having it

So, I am taking my face back

As soon as I figure out how.

N.A.

slam poetry
18

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Oh yes this is amazing and what commentary on technology!!!!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    What an excellent poem! I can see why it garnered so many reads!

  • Liz Sinclair11 months ago

    creepy and good! so apt these days

  • Joe Luca2 years ago

    Was sitting in the living room when I went back 30 years to when there were no smart phones, no Internet, no social media, no way to fact check an actor's real name in the middle of a movie, no way to order pizza without getting up, no playing solitaire when hanging with the family. Liked it better. Slower paced and easier to be at peace. Technoloigy isn't always my friend. Good one!

  • Joseph June2 years ago

    Nice job and choice of words too… 👍

  • Dylan 2 years ago

    Great job! This is real deep.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is very good. Time to put my phone on time out I think.

  • Really enjoyed this--huh, made me think differently about my devices! Well written to great effect.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.