Poets logo

The Facade of Life Online

A poem about the mask we put up for social media

By De'Anne RoyePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
A picture of the author De'Anne Roye

The Facade of Life Online

Got these three journal prompts written

On my Instagram reel,

Telling others to show up as there

Best while I struggle to show up at all.

The facade of life online

It’s one message online

And another message

In real life.

Torned and disappointed

By

The misalignment

Of who I want to be

And the actions I take that fall

Just a little short.

I want to be the best version of myself

I am crawling across the concrete

to be the version of myself

the inaction is holding me back

From the positive impact, I want to leave on this world.

Most of my friendships feel like a failure

Of inconsistency,

I’m barely being consistent

With phone calls and meetings,

And the time between is becoming

This distance passed, and we didn’t see much of each other

The past is these faded memories

That is repeating now

Maybe our friendship may not survive

And I feel like I should fix

But I just complain that it should be fixed and do nothing.

There may be perfectly crafted images online

People complimenting me

you look amazing,

Go, girl,

But this girl isn’t going.

But inside, I feel like I’m in a chapter

Of stagnation,

But I got put on for Instagram.

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryperformance poetryFree Verse
2

About the Creator

De'Anne Roye

De'Anne Roye is a poet and writer. Her work is in an anthology tribute to Nikki Giovanni, showcasing her talent at an upcoming publication for one of her poems in the Academy of the Heart and Mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • De'Anne Roye (Author)3 months ago

    Thank you!

  • Test3 months ago

    Well Written My Dear

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.