Poets logo

The Expert of My life

A poem by Ross Lombardi

By Ross E Fortune LombardiPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

.

The Expert of My life

By Ross Lombardi

.

From child to a man of 25 years

A much-loved expert on the world

Gave me this advice

In a soothing voice

So calm and nice

.

“What you created is ok, I suppose, ish –”

“BUT, apart from THIS!”

“Stop crying I am trying to help you succeed!”

“One day my advice you will miss,”

.

.

In my first job for 25 months,

A much-respected expert on the world

Gave me this career advice

In a soothing voice

So calm and nice

.

“What you do is ok, I suppose, ish –”

“You are only starting, obviously you will struggle”

“I am trying to help you succeed!”

“You should be doing much better than this!”

.

.

When I become mentally ill for the first time of many

A much-respected “medical expert”

Gave me this advice

In a soothing voice

So calm and nice

.

“I am so sorry you are ill”

“Is there anything I can do? Perhaps a cup of Tea?”

“It’s such a pity you were too weak to stay strong”

“Now let me tell you at length how Sad this makes ME!”

.

.

When my marriage was struggling for 25 years,

A trusted expert on the world

Gave me this advice

In a soothing voice

So calm and nice

.

“You need to lose some weight”

“No one likes anyone that big”

“I am only saying this because I care”

“Poor fatty pig.”

.

.

When my marriage fell apart after 25 years,

A trusted expert on the world

Gave me this advice

In a soothing voice

So calm and nice

.

“Women only want a man with a job”

“And their own house”

“You are simply not a catch and will die alone,”

“Poor inadequate mouse.”

.

.

Now lost and broken

A much-loved expert on the world

Still gives me their advice

In a soothing voice

So calm and nice

.

I need them as a child does

I cannot seem to learn my lesson and be done

Because when in pain, it is only natural to need this type of expert

This expert is…

My “caring” own Mum

.

.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Ross E Fortune Lombardi

Writer. Gamer, Goth

A (Constantly Failing To Be Funny) satirist!

[email protected]

Mutare non est meum

Cantus moriar

BLOG:

http://lombot.co.uk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.