Poets logo

THE EXISTENCE OF FICTION

Comforting Pain

By Wendy - Empathic TigressPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
16
THE EXISTENCE OF FICTION
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

I fled from the shadows to wander the light,

To saunter in gardens of floral delights

My grieving gave sunshine no reason to rise,

Then prose heard the pleas of my desperate mind

.

From heaven to hell’s gate, I’ve walked a thin line,

Dissecting my sorrows beneath the moonlight

A thousand impressions of scattered starlight,

Gave birth to the musings of wrongs, I must write

.

The existence of fiction wipes tears from my eyes,

I wander the dreamscapes of Wonderland’s skies

Where spoonfuls of magic cure every disease,

Where mermaids dance tangos 'neath mystical seas

.

Such beautiful verses are etched in my brain,

Though spectres of loss still conspire with my pain

When heaven’s bell tolls, and my musings refrain,

I’ll whisper my verse in a world without chains!

.

©️ Wendy Phelan - Edited - 18 May 2020 ®️

Image Google - No Claim

inspirational
16

About the Creator

Wendy - Empathic Tigress

Born in NZ, living in Australia. With a passion for writing from an early age. Traumatic experiences peppered my life but, gave me deep empathy and unconditional love. Poetry/writing are the best therapy and bring me peace, I hope to share.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ariel Niforatos2 years ago

    I love this! So powerful and I think the last line really brings it together

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.