Poets logo

The Every Day Hustle

The struggle is real

By ChezaLunaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

Every day is a struggle.

Every day I have to hustle.

I get so tired of this game of Life.

I feel as though I spend every moment of my existence either working to make money or trying to think of more ways to make more money. I have a full time job; shouldn’t that be enough? It never is. My measley paycheck is always gone just a few days after pay day (and I only get paid twice a month as it is). I have lost count of the numerous side gigs I have taken on. Some work, some are a waste, and so many turn out to be scams.

My husband and I, we’re a team. Together, we struggle. Together, we hustle. We do any side jobs we can find. There are a couple of families that pay us a few times a year to assemble furniture or presents for their kids. Those jobs usually only take a few hours, require minimal tools, and turn a decent profit.

When I’m not at work, we drive for various delivery services: DoorDash, UberEats, Spark. But with gas running $4.59 a gallon? It’s barely worth it. Especially when the customers almost never tip in our town. And the worst part? It has been in the mid to high 90s all week, with no air conditioning in either of our vehicles. Half of me is a sunburned lobster from having the windows down. The other half is still a pale wintery shade.

When it’s not busy at work or with any of the delivery services, I usually take surveys on my phone, making some extra change here and there. Those don’t pay off much either, but everything helps when we get in a bind.

The sad thing is, I really have no idea how we stay broke. It’s always bills or gas or food, or having to fix something that brakes. It is never enough no matter how hard I try. Now we need to take on rent which we have never done before. I have no idea how to squeeze that in to an already stretched budget.

When will this struggle end? Will my hustle ever pay off?

excerpts
1

About the Creator

ChezaLuna

I’m just a wife and mom of 2 trying to make it in life. I write in hopes of making sense of the chaos in my mind. Feedback is always welcome! Please like, subscribe, tip, share, pledge or however this site works🤗 thank you for your time!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Daemion Synclaire2 years ago

    This is so REAL.

  • This was eye opening and very relatable. It's the world we live in now

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.