Poets logo

The End of September Night

A youth's mistake

By Shanshan GaudreaultPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Almost to the midnight

Dark blue sky

Why cry

I saw the photo of you

A small soul

Tender and kind

My eyes are sored

It's the end of September night

Do I miss you

or

The time you were in my life

I cried

Never I bought you a bed

Nor the best meal that you could have

Time is a funny thing

Same as the human mind

I miss you

Not how I planned

You came into my mind

Like the wind of the night

It's love

It's guilt

It's the end of September night

I lay on the new bed

Southern states have no falling leafs

A thick duvet covered me

I was sweating

In this end of September night

The duvet

Soft, kind, light

I hugged myself

padded my shoulder

wiped my tear

" It's ok."

" It will pass."

The only true comfort an adult can have

Is the lie we tell ourselves.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.