Poets logo

The End of Peace

On the loss of peace and god's promise

By Lizzy RosePublished 5 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
1
The End of Peace
Photo by Mirhashim Bagaliyev on Unsplash

We have abandoned peace.

I wish I could say it was lost,

misplaced atop a mantlepiece.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It took a train with a bloody valise,

or it is merely sea-tossed.

I’m sure it is just wandering the streets.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Perhaps it took a vacation to Greece,

or to see the sites of the Holocaust,

reminiscing in the losses its absence sees.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

He traveled with a darling Elise,

her hair woven with alecosts,

around her shoulders sits a silver fleece.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“We have failed,” she cries, and pleas

for even a single move more to exhaust.

“The dangers will never cease.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Their choices we can no longer police,”

Through the fields of war they crossed.

They fled through villages with terminated lease.

We have driven away peace.

social commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetryinspirationalheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

Lizzy Rose

Hello! I'm Lizzy, a poet and fiction/fantasy writer. I've been creating fiction since I was a child, making up and acting out stories. I started writing my stories when I was 9, and poetry when I was 11!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.