Poets logo

The End

By S.E.Linn

By S. E. LinnPublished 26 days ago 2 min read
Top Story - July 2024

Today my life shifted with one little text,

You decided to finally make me your ex.

You’ve met someone else,

And started anew.

‘It just kinda happened.’

I’m so happy for you.

I wished you good luck,

And put down my cell.

The news hit me strangely,

Part Heaven, part Hell.

You were my person

And my very best friend

We were there for each other

Right til the end.

When someone is gone

It’s different than dead

And all that remains

Are the words left unsaid.

I loved you and hated

all the things that you did.

Your words full of cruelty

since bounce round my head.

I’ll miss the feeling of my head on your chest.

Snuggled under your shoulder

having a rest.

I won’t miss the fighting,

Being crushed by the weight

of the wounds from the past,

or your anger and hate.

Seeping into my cells

bouncing round in my brain.

On a cellular level,

you transferred your pain.

I tried to be kind,

Oh, I tried to connect.

But, I felt so alone,

An emotional wreck.

Poisoned and sick,

Unsafe and sad.

I’ve never loved anyone who hurt me that bad.

And I know I did things to hurt you, too

I tried everything to try to get through

to the man I loved and thought I knew.

But we live our lives in different ways,

I knew that this love was so depraved.

I always had one foot in the relationship grave.

I lost all hope for better days.

I couldn’t understand

Why did I keep going back?

Why were we magnets

Repel and attract?

I didn’t want to be always the one

Who bore the brunt of your rage

And never had any fun.

We weren’t on the same page.

Your children, your dogs, strangers and friends

Got treated like gold

While I got the ‘you’ who was mean and hellbent on

suffocating my soul.

On keeping me close by

Dropping the crumbs

Loving and charming

Then distant and numb.

So, although today’s news was ever so hard.

I should send your new “someone” a Thank you card.

The truth is my freedom is worth more to me

Than a life with the man you’ll never be.

heartbreak

About the Creator

S. E. Linn

Hi! I'm the owner of YAASSS! a copywriter, reviewer, editor, blogger, ghostwriter, poet, international teacher, published author, dog lover, sheet wadder, and proud mom of 2 amazing humans.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (16)

  • Dawnxisoul393art18 days ago

    Thank you for sharing this heartfelt piece. It captures the complexities of love, pain, and the journey toward self-discovery, love your works, subscribed.

  • Darkos21 days ago

    Heartbreaking but also liberating amazing poem ! Congratulation on Top Story !

  • Poppy 21 days ago

    This is incredible!! I love how you represented the good and the bad. Perfect explanation of the mixed feelings that are all too relatable. "I knew that this love was so depraved. I always had one foot in the relationship grave." That's so well written! And then those last three lines were next level!! So well done! Congrats on Top Story!

  • reminds me of the Matchbox Twenty song "Push"

  • a common theme, very relatable, i know this pain so well

  • Margaret Brennan23 days ago

    congrats on TS. this surely sounds like someone I used to know. GREAT writing.

  • T. Licht23 days ago

    congrats on top story!!

  • Thanks so much! I appreciate it!

  • Sarah Parker23 days ago

    Wow. There is so much pain in this poem, yet it is expressed in such a beautiful way. Great job with this. Incredible work.

  • Gina C.23 days ago

    Oh, the feelings in this. Wonderful job. Congrats on Top Story!

  • Christine 23 days ago

    I felt your words - relatable and real. Well done! And congrats on Top Story!

  • Break ups can be hard , great words

  • Liam Storm23 days ago

    Heart wrenching! Very well written and from the heart. Congrats on the top story

  • Kendall Defoe 26 days ago

    Well, that hurt... Thank you for sharing this. Those emotions and feelings are hard to share in any form.

  • Sweileh 88826 days ago

    Thank you for the interesting and delicious content. Follow my stories now.

S. E. LinnWritten by S. E. Linn

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.