Poets logo

The Eclipsed Bookworm

A poetic duo: When our fantasy worlds start to overshadow reality

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished about a month ago 1 min read
1
The Eclipsed Bookworm
Photo by Gaman Alice on Unsplash

High Expectations

Expectations overshadow what

could be if I broke free from what I imagine

love might be.

I apologize to all in the shadow of this bookworm's fantasy.

Perhaps I need to start prioritizing what I truly need,

so the love of my life doesn't pass me by because he was

eclipsed by a bookworm's fantasy.

By Martino Pietropoli on Unsplash

***

Sunglasses

Escaping reality in the world

created in these pages used to be the sun of my

life. Now it has become the moon blocking me from the

illumination I wish to be standing in.

Please let me free, but stay close by in case I need a little

shade from the blinding light of reality.

Escape should be sunglasses, not permanent darkness.

By Stephanie Hau on Unsplash

social commentaryFree VerseAcrostic
1

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Loved this recognition for balance.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.