Poets logo

The Eclipse Was on the Other Side

A wannabe Ghazal Poem

By Gabriela Trofin-TatárPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
7
Imagining the eclipse with my mind’s eye — Created by the author in Canva Pro, Photo by Victoria, Pixabay

When I expected to see the unknown skies yonder,

I learned that the stars were hidden from our wonder.

*

The eclipse was much farther, on the other side,

Unseen to us, unwitnessable apparition to subside.

*

But the mind and soul can feel the changes of beyond,

Visible in my kids’ restlessness, a force unable to succumb.

*

Fidgeting annoying gestures, animalistic growls, desire to eat,

Uncontrollable cries, wanting more and feeling incomplete.

*

The moon in its full force protruding gently from my mind,

I imagine its golden-ringed perfection eclipsed, no rewind.

*

With a focus on totality, is the Moon’s eclipse journey forgotten?

Days before and beyond the eclipse, we feel its effects, drunken.

*

The eclipse of the mind was thoroughly feelable to us, alive

In our souls, even if its celestial view was inherently denied.

--

Inspired by A.H. Mehr’s poem, where I first learned about the Ghazal Poem form, I tried writing my own. I hope it managed to be in the correct form, even if I had trouble keeping the Bah’r. It is a challenging form of poetry and I respect the poets who can write effortlessly.

Regarding the eclipse, in Europe, it was not visible, but we could thoroughly feel its effects on our behavior and energy shifts. I tried to express that.

Thank you to Claire Kelly, Dave Logan, and The Sturg — the talented editors of Write Under the Moon.

--

💗 Thank you for reading! I appreciate your support. This poem was originally published on Medium by me.💗

Buy me a coffee or a tea and/or let me know your ideas in the comments section. I welcome all your thoughts and constructive discussions.

GratitudeFor Fun
7

About the Creator

Gabriela Trofin-Tatár

Full Stack Developer in the making and mother of 3 littles. Curious, bookaholic and travel addict. I also write on Medium and Substack: https://medium.com/@chicachiflada & https://chicachiflada.substack.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibi6 days ago

    Your attempt on eclipse was great amazing I appreciate your efforts

  • L.C. Schäfer9 days ago

    I had never heard of this form and had to go and read about it! I enjoyed your poem 😁

  • Babs Iverson10 days ago

    Brilliantly written & love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Nature Lover10 days ago

    Beautiful ghazal poem. I am not familiar with this style, but you made me curious! 👀 I love the feeling of it! 🪷

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.