Poets logo

The Eclipse

A double acrostic

By Katarzyna PopielPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
The Eclipse
Photo by Dave Hoefler on Unsplash

Darkness

Ascends upon you

Restrains the blazing sun

Keeping its pace, at a crawl

Nibbles at the ripening litchi

Even as it starts receding

Stand up and watch

Sunlight

*

*

*

(This piece is something that popped into my mind a while ago, prompted by the Eclipse challenge, but I have only just managed to sit down to it and put some flesh on the idea. I like merging styles and forms to generate something new so this concrete poetry/double acrostic is right up my street. Well, as for concrete poetry, my idea was slightly different but this is the best I could do with what Vocal makes possible. Still not sure if this version is final so maybe I will revisit and fiddle with it when better ideas appear.)

nature poetryAcrostic

About the Creator

Katarzyna Popiel

A translator, a writer. Two languages to reconcile, two countries called home.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    Outstanding! Love the double acrostic and concrete elements which added to the piece’s impact without distracting from the great line progression

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    Nibbles at the ripening litchi - I love that!

  • Jay Kantorabout a month ago

    Hi Kp in Uk - I so agree with our mutual Chum, Rachel. You both are writers...I certainly am not; I don't even know how to pronounce 'Acrostic.' As mentioned, I just like to put my silly sketches-stories out there; just fun for me at this stage. If you have a moment please see 'Baby Mamas' ..you may relate? j.in.l.a.

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    This was excellent! I mean, double acostic - magic. But then look at how it looks in the page! Phenomenal! This is masterful!

Katarzyna PopielWritten by Katarzyna Popiel

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.