Poets logo

The Duality of Me

A poem about myself

By Tris GrayPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Duality of Me
Photo by Possessed Photography on Unsplash

The duality of man has been presented, discussed, and defined

By thousands of people attempting to understand the human mind

After many years of ignorance, one thing I have just figured out

Is there is another layer to humankind no one really talks about

We have the capability to be the best people we can be

Yet we have the human condition that makes us less than perfect, you see

As I examine my life and how i treat all the ones I love

I am both satisfied and appalled by things I’ve never bothered to think of

I am selfless to a fault and give everything to those for whom I yearn 

While I’m a parasite to those who love me, giving little, yet expecting everything in return

I allow myself to be used and pushed around just to be accepted

While I do the same to others, who offer me themselves just to be rejected

I solve problems for someone new and I always play the part

While I neglect the ones I love the most, who have the largest pieces of my heart

I listen without fail, providing support when it’s convenient for me

But I offer nothing to those who need me and still become confused when they leave

I pretend to be this perfect friend whose loyalty never wavers

But in reality I unintentionally back off once I’ve gained someone’s favor 

I don’t do these things on purpose and my love is always there

So why do I stop doting on those friends who most deserve my care

I have so many things to apologize for, and this is only the start

I know from here on out I will be better, I promise, cross my heart.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Tris Gray

Welcome to my musings, my daydreams, and sometimes, my nightmares.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.