Poets logo

The Dreaming World

A nightmares tale

By Christiane WinterPublished about a year ago 1 min read
8
The Dreaming World
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

In my dreams, I saw a curious sight-

A world both dark and full of light;

Where creatures lurked both near and far,

And shadows danced beneath the stars.

The air was thick with mystery

As I wandered aimlessly

Through streets that seemed to have no end

Where secrets lay around each bend.

I saw a man with eyes ablaze-

Whose face was etched with ancient ways;

He spoke to me of hidden lore

And secrets of a world before.

But as I listened, spellbound, enthralled

I woke to find the dream had dissolved

Leaving only scraps of memory

And a sense of strange abnormality.

Yet even now, as I lay in bed

The dream lingers in my head

A puzzle piece that I can't place

A strange and eerie, haunted space

So I lay here, wide awake

Hoping that my mind will shake

The remnants of this eerie dream,

And all its bizarre, unsettling themes.

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Christiane Winter

Science fiction, horror, and dark comedy enthusiast. I have been a GM for D&D for 10 years, playing for nearly 20. Like all aspiring authors, I have hundreds of stories, and almost none have been finished.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.