Poets logo

The dream that foretold...

...me doing a stint.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
2
Via Pixabay.

5JAN2023; 1154, THU– Washington, DC Veteran Affairs Medical Center

My midnight, melatonin inspired missions as a mere munchkin, made me markedly aware that I'd someday earn monies monthly. Monetary gains mainly thanks to the U.S. military.

It's an indelible inclination to reflect on the round which entered into one end of my buttocks, and out the other in the dream. Initial intrigue was likely induced by Saving Private Ryan.

I can't imagine where I'd be without that bedtime experience; way back when I was but a wee whippersnapper. One thing for sure, and two for certain tho: At some point since that arguable nightmare, I was gonna be a Serviceman.

Tryna stay true, I'd be a Trigger-puller. The trillion dollar question tho: Would I do it all the same, to a "T", if I could turn back the hands of time?

Because fun fact: Dreaming about bullets thru the butt is barely fun; if at all. But, as the saying goes, "C'est la vie..."

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Oh my, this was super scary!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.