Poets logo

The Dream Hunt

Strange things happen when you sleep.

By R. G. ReidburnPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

The dogs are after me

First there was just one, a little slow

I stay ahead of it, breaking for the building.

But then, in some trees, I see the silhouette of another.

It's a pack, and they know I'm here.

I change direction. More dogs appear.

I think they are dead, but still they chase me.

One is catching up.

I pass a picnic area, throw chairs back at it.

They slow it down, but not much.

I reach the door, push it open.

The dog makes it in, just after I do.

I make it to the other side of the room, when I hear a voice.

"Now!"

The dog has become a thing, it's slower now,

It walks like a man,

but with the face of an ape.

I make it to another door

No handle, but it is open, just slightly.

I pull it shut behind me.

Now the thing is trapped.

But why did it want me?

What was it?

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

R. G. Reidburn

A Coast Guard vet who has also been a bookseller, video game tester, and many other things. In his free time he is usually reading, writing, or working on his house. Currently resides on the southern Washington coast.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.