Poets logo

The Dragon in You

come on baby light my fire

By Randy BakerPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 3 min read
15
imagine generated by author using Midjourney

The dragon in me loves the dragon in you. The way we smolder together. The way our eyes reflect the conflagration behind the eyes of the other. The dragon in me loves the dragon in you.

.

Those hard scales cannot hide what is inside. Each scale a kaleidoscope of colors, swirling and merging, reminiscent of gasoline on water. Gas, yes, fuel for the fire, waiting to scorch like our desire. Those hard scales cannot hide what is inside.

.

I see you soaring there, you great winged beast. Magnificent. Others may run and hide, but I gaze, mesmerized. They look, but they do not see. It must be fear of what they do not understand. I do not need to understand. You are magnificent and that is enough. I see you soaring there.

.

Your breath hangs in the air like hot coals and ash. When you speak, I can see the smoke signals against the bright winter sky. Your words are heat, a branding iron, searing into the flesh of my heart. Others merely speak. You breathe words to life. I want to fan each syllable into an orange-red flame, as it hangs in the air like hot coals and ash.

.

Your love is an inferno. It chars and blisters those who cannot endure. Proximity is enough to singe those of weak will. They run, they flee, and they blame you for their weakness. Yet, here I stand. Unafraid and unflinching. With open arms and open eyes, I embrace your love, I embrace the inferno.

.

Love dies when it grows cold. Dragon love is forever love. Whether an ember, or blaze, it is always there. No need to ignite the sparks, or kindle the cinders. It is ever burning, ever yearning, for one who will not combust at its touch. I will not incinerate. Touch me. Scorch your name into my every cell. Love dies when it grows cold.

.

You inspire me to fly higher, to burn brighter, to soar over this life unafraid. With you, I spread my wings a little wider. I roar. I am determined. The dragon in you calls to the dragon in me. You inspire me to fly higher.

.

Scratch beneath my surface with those dreadful claws. I have been waiting for someone to dig deep. The timid and the talon-less do nothing for me. What can they see? Everything I am worth is hidden beneath this outward shell. Scratch beneath my surface with those dreadful claws.

.

You are magical. You are mythical. You are mystical. Endangered, but not extinct. To some, you are a dream. To others, a nightmare. They do not know how to reconcile you to their myopic vision of what is and what might be. Easier to pretend you are a figment, whether good or bad. You are not imagination. You are magical.

.

Together we form a pyre, reaching for the sun. Icarus was an amateur. We are dragons, you and I. The heat only tempers us, like precious metal. Neither solar flares nor envious stares can penetrate our impervious armor. Together we form a pyre.

.

You hold tight to a treasure. Protect it with your life. But the tales told have gotten it all wrong. There are no jewels to beguile, or gold heaped in piles. The lore is a bore compared to the reality. It is not always clear, but behind that veneer, I see what many a hero and adventurer has sought in vain. You hold tight to a treasure.

.

The dragon in me loves the dragon in you. The way we smolder together.

.

The dragon in me loves the dragon in you.

Prose
15

About the Creator

Randy Baker

Poet, author, essayist.

Follow me on X

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arctic3 months ago

    Some really great word choices here! nice job

  • Real Poetic3 months ago

    This is so vivid! I could literally see this line come to life, “When you speak, I can see the smoke signals against the bright winter sky.” Well done.

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Wow, you weaved your emotional words so beautifully together.

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Wow!!! This is brilliant, Randy. There is so much emotion in this and there were so many lines I wanted to highlight. One of my favourites is, "I want to fan each syllable into an orange-red flame, as it hangs in the air like hot coals and ash." I also loved "Icarus was an amateur." Stunning work. Thank you so much for sharing this! 💗

  • Lindsay Sfara4 months ago

    Icarus was an amateur. Ah! I love that line. The power and confidence that brims from those four words. And the imagery throughout this prose is so well done. This is great, Randy!

  • Test4 months ago

    Beautifully expressed- I think eveything we are all worth is hidden beneath the shell x

  • Bonnie Bowerman4 months ago

    Yes so true! Dragons are awesome! Just brillant! Loved it!

  • Alex H Mittelman 4 months ago

    Fantastic poem! Plus dragons are awesome! 🐉🐲

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.