Poets logo

The Downward Flames

le dissedent

By Timothy James LanePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

a journey for broken feet

out past the farthest fires

the words for renouncement

through blackmail and indiscipline

I had found no one to follow

but myself

as it was etched in beech

in the beginning

the sanctuary that was lost

the sun bellows through

the rainbow's fractured scythe

as my back meets the earth

I've climbed so far

If only to see how the fuselage

has ruptured across the meadow

some glimpse of promised land

punctuated in black

by the ceremony of innocence

all the lanterns salvaged

in the sharp fields of night

and so even without knowing

what has vanished from me

tell me who I am

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Timothy James Lane

Sea Ghost

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.