Poets logo

The double take

Confession time

By Pauline FountainPublished 3 years ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
2
[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

It takes a lot for Shan to do a double take.

Even with me.

I’m the first to admit that I can present others with situations whose significance has not been completely grasped at first.

And yet, with pleasure, I elicited this response the other morning.

He has been visiting from Mitchell and had stayed over for a few nights. Puttin in the hours to complete a l-o-n-g overdue project.

S: So are you still up to making breakfast?

P: Sure. I don’t have much on offer.

S: Eggs?

P: Yep. Poached or fried.

S: Scrambled.

P: Oh. Confession time. I have no idea how to make them.

[ Double take ]

S: What?!

P: I know.

S: Like you’re kidding me. Right?

P: No! I like them poached or fried!

S: Have you eaten them?

P: Yes. A lot. You make them.

S: Dear God. Cooking lesson time. I’ll help you.

P: You’re not helping. You’re doing it.

S: That’s because you haven’t even tilted the bowl and you need to learn how to whisk.

P: You’d make a terrible Home Economics Teacher.

S: That’s funny coming from someone that can’t make scrambled eggs.

P: Ha ha ha. True.

S: Just watch and put on some toast.

P: Lucky! I’ve actually done that before.

*

So for breakfast this morning?

Tomato juice. Scrambled eggs. A little salt and pepper. Chilli flakes. And toast.

[ I can hear Shannan now. ]

S: You put the scrambled eggs on the toast!

P: No. I like it this way. Like soldiers!

S: Dear God!

Pauline Fountain. © 2021. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be used or reproduced without the written permission of the author.

how to
2

About the Creator

Pauline Fountain

Writing and photography provide a creative outlet to reflect with meaning on my life.

My mental health? Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling), Complex PTSD and Functional Neurological Disorder.

My son’s gentle wisdom furnishes me with the gift of hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.