Poets logo

The Doorway

a frame of mind

By Sarah LennPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

Maybe this time

I will be able to leave our door closed

the one I try to keep open

for fresh air

(though it's the wind that keeps howling through it)

The one that I leave

ajar just in case you choose

to say hello again

if you find yourself wanting

to be friends

but you have asked

me to close it

you have slammed it shut

so many times

passing through

my hallway

punching holes

in the walls on

your way out

and each time

it takes me a bit longer

to re-open it

I pause to think

I pause to act

(you give me pause)

this time has been

the longest yet

and I wonder if I

should move

where you can no longer

find me

so then at least I wont

have to stare at that

dead end, unused

doorway.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Lenn

Using writing as a way to capture snapshots of emotion on a screen whilst life happens. And life has thrown me some curve balls. Always striving to find a path through the chaos...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.