Poets logo

The dimming of a bright purple.

(poem)

By Noelani BrownPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Ultraviolet beams

Don’t get noticed in broad daylight

Though still, I wish my mother

cupped her eyes against my Purple vibe.

You see, religious mothers

Are more keen on the unseen

And so the tactic was

To hardly try the secrecy

I cloaked myself just like a Blue

And giggled in the corner

At the elephant in the room

Dude, I even had the skateboard

I doubt she would assume

Even I’m not very sure if

Pinks and Blues could share the space

On my affection’s tiny surface

An array of complementaries

To purplish complexions

Do not grant a wide capacity

(A common misconception)

Sometimes I have no vibrancy

For Pinks nor Blues nor Inbetweens

Vibrate slower, solo, lower

Bask in grayer color schemes

At least alone, I still maintain

My mother’s wish to see me Pink

A spectrum of its own

Purple shows you what you want to think

Indigo, magenta, violet, lilac,

Lavender and mauve

Alone, the question of which one

I feel today is hardly solved

Dear friends, I regret to inform

That I might never really know

If a Pink could make me feel

All of the colors of the rainbow

The heavens sent a lovely Blue

And flushed me Pink, right to my core

And forced me then to question

Just how Purple I had been before.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Noelani Brown

Noelani Brown is an artist based in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.