Poets logo

The Devil At My Heels

Nightmare Away

By Ada O'Brien Published about a year ago 1 min read
1
Original Artwork by Jordan O'Brien

Last night I had a dream so intensely real, my wings thick with feathers, were soft to feel.

A voice behind me startled me, I turned, the devil horned, to see.

I felt a scream tear from my lips, as the shadow lurched, and jumped, and dipped.

Dark wings took me up into the sky, as below I heard the devil cry.

She wants my soul, my heart, my mind, I feel her somewhere deep inside.

Her voice rang out, called for my life, wanting my heart to cringe, and die.

Spiteful words flew out as she followed me, then she grasped at my wings so angrily.

I hate you!

You are never enough!

You are nothing!

Tears fell as the words tore into my flesh, I tried to fight them off, before they could mesh.

Defeat lowered me to the ground again, I tried to run, to escape, to defend!

But the devil chased closely on my heels, so desperately I turned my face to appeal.

Shock ran down my back as cold as ice, as I glimpsed her face, a heart-stopping sight!

Familiar eyes, familiar mouth, gasping loudly, I tried to cry out.

I am her and she is me, the devil inside turns out to be!

My own doubting voice says I'm not enough, and I can never re-fill my own cup.

Always talking down and hating myself, wondering why I can't get love from somebody else.

Before my gaze the devil's face turned bright, her smile lit up, a beautiful sight.

As I finally stepped forward to embrace her, I abruptly awoke from my dreaming slumber.

When my eyes finally opened to the world around me, I whispered, "Today I choose to respect and love me."

surreal poetrysad poetryinspirational
1

About the Creator

Ada O'Brien

Ada O'Brien is a published Author. She loves writing stories and poetry and getting what she feels down on paper. She is a survivor. She loves being a mom, drinking wine, and can often be found at the local bar on the weekends with friends.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Talia Devoraabout a year ago

    Wonderful poem! Please read one of my Full Moon entries in return! https://vocal.media/poets/in-the-ussr

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.