Poets logo

The Delights of a Higher Education

A New Breath after Quarantine

By Jolan KoppPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Delights of a Higher Education
Photo by Sergiu Vălenaș on Unsplash

I laugh at the rules of the Unseelie Court,

I set down my phone.

Book on my bed, books on my desk

I saw my roommates today

Of the past, present and future

Interlocking into a community

Which fills me with warm fuzzies

I toured the library

Soon my day home

At the desk of the research center

I got to see maps rolled like cloth parchment

And think about the rare books

Some as old as the 1600s

And a fellow student felt as alight as I had at the sights

Like we were chosen to divulge secrets

If I were to die, this may be my heaven

Filled in ecstasy of over-brimming knowledge

In our tiny walkable city of concerned citizens

Asking if I need help and what they could do to further my education

No longer cold and lonely in isolation

Facing the harsh coldness of industrial society alone

But in a warm flavor of enlightenment

Full of audience to hear my stories

I feel as though I could write home to my family

And one day tell them I have loads of knowledge to offer

To enrich our conversations and build our lives

All this information, just for me

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Jolan Kopp

Instagram: @yelyahnaloj (https://www.instagram.com/yelyahnaloj/)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.