Poets logo

The Definition of Chivalry

a letter regarding being a gentleman

By Brian CliftonPublished about a year ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
1
The Definition of Chivalry
Photo by Alessio Fiorentino on Unsplash

As a man who endeavors to be someone who is more reminiscent of the gentleman told of in old tales like the one the two cities tell, an old soul, akin to those belonging to the Victorian era, I must resist my initial inclination, which is one of rushing in to save her.

For you see, chivalry is ingrained in me, inexorable from my character, formed from my version of the old code, reworked, and made more modern. So in this case, as it relates to her, the description of “distressed damsel” doesn't fit. Contrarily, it seems rather unbecoming, almost insulting.

I have discerned that it is not rescuing that she seeks from me, or anyone. For the battles she is fighting I cannot champion in the hope of earning her favor in return. Otherwise, I’d find myself honor-bound to wage a campaign on her behalf, in her name. Alas, albeit less than fortunate, I regret I can serve no tours in her internal wars within herself.

I once believed that I served no purpose if my proverbial steed were bridled, thus preventing me from charging in, lances high, and my banner flying behind me in the wind. I've since learned that to be a man, one must understand when to stand and when to stand aside, and when to put away their pride. So instead of implements of steel, I steeled my resolve to offer her consistency and stand by her side.

To provide within my means, make sure she’s kept safe from existential threats. To watch over her so she can relax, be at peace, sleep well at night, and awake refreshed. In this way, I may make one less battle she must fight. For what could be more chivalrous, than being who she needs, as each situation deems necessary?

In my humble opinion, this is the definition of chivalry. Chivalry personified.

vintage
1

About the Creator

Brian Clifton

I am a father, a software engineer, a technical writer, a fantasy fiction writer and a poet. I am an activist for every-human's rights, and when I am not writing code, I'm writing poetry to order my thoughts as a form of self-work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.