Poets logo

The Days

Don't you just want to be a kid again

By savage writerPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’m a time traveler going back to childhood

The boy I once was before becoming a man

Early 2000s were interesting for me

Schley Street days, Nickelodeon and Cartoon Network tuned up full blast on my momma’s Magnavox

Sega Genesis is in the living room, next to the PlayStation One and Two

Begging my cousins to let me play Sonic 2 again

Dialup internet, the Compaq running on ’95 which took about fifteen minutes to boot

Game Boy Advance in my pocket, damn I just ran out of Duracell

What was an iPhone again?

Dwellin’ in the head of the cove, dats’ Lenni-Lenape for my set

Shaped me into who I am in this current moment

I’m a time traveler, reliving the joyous moments my family and I spent together

Before trauma, death, addiction, and money had us divided

Don’t you just want to go back to the house on Stengel once more?

Don’t you want to have that one final epic Independence Day cookout before your uncle gets hit up?

Everyone is invited, don’t care if you’re black, white, Asian or Brazilian

Just keep your hands on your own plate

I want to sit in that rocking chair with Ernestine one more time as I’m eating her world’s famous tuna sandwiches

Take me back there, fam!

I miss my old way of life.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

savage writer

http://bit.ly/TRPY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.