Poets logo

The day you died

A tribute to Leslie from Bridge to Terabithia

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 6 days ago 1 min read
The day you died
Photo by Evgeni Tcherkasski on Unsplash

who is that? Who is racing ahead of me? Is that a boy or a girl?

My name is Leslie.

Leslie can be a boy or girl name.

Pleased to meet you. I live under the water. I’m a girl.

No, you don’t. You can’t live in the sea.

Yes I do. Do you see the shimmering blue lights reflecting through the window of the sea?

Wait. I do see it. I feel like I’m dreaming and never waking up. Drowning. But I can still breathe.

Do you smell the salty smoke coming from the hot air? The sea is rumbling like an ancient volcano.

You beat me in the big race. I practiced that sprint for days. Girls shouldn’t beat boys.

Girls and boys can race and I can beat you. I did.

Let’s go past this swing and go to the creek.

I love your pictures, you’re a true artist, Jesse. I’ll swing over and we can be king and queen.

That’s silly.

Now see those hedges and those trees? See the mountains and streams. See our kingdom.

We are here together, Leslie. I’m here with you, we are not going anywhere.

Don’t throw us away.

I wouldn’t.

I’m going early to the bridge.

Ok. I’m gonna go later. Maybe later.

Leslie, stop! I would not have stayed with my teacher if I had known…

I wish I could’ve saved you. Oh God, Leslie. The day you died, I died. I keep picturing the rope breaking and you falling. I can’t get it out of my heart, it’s breaking and cracked like a large bell. I can’t hear your voice.

“I’m here, Jesse. I’m here.”

heartbreakFriendship

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • C. Rommial Butler4 days ago

    "I can’t get it out of my heart, it’s breaking and cracked like a large bell." Well-wrought line. Bridge to Terabithia, Charlotte's Web, and Flowers in the Attic were all very different books that nevertheless had a profound influence on how I learned to deal with the dark moments in life. Nice ode here!

  • Linda Bromley6 days ago

    Oh my gosh as soon as I saw the name Jesse I knew the story. I read it in year 8 and then of course the movie came out. I loved this.

  • I've watched this movie and it was so sad. Your poem was so poignant and emotional. Loved it so much Merly!

  • Ameer Bibi6 days ago

    Really unique waybof writing Nice to meet you too sweetie

  • shanmuga priya6 days ago

    Your writing truly pulls at the heartstrings. Thank you for sharing such an emotional and thought-provoking poem.

  • Joe Patterson6 days ago

    Spoiler alert: I still have never seen this movie.

Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.