Poets logo

The Day of a Creator

Poems

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
The Day of a Creator
Photo by Simon Wilkes on Unsplash

Like the rope that holds the ship to anchor, I clutch my pen as I stare down at the blank piece of paper, hoping the ideas will start flowing.

I sit under the big oak tree in my backyard, feeling the gentle breeze tickle my face.

Usually, the ideas pour out of me like water out of a faucet.

But today, it feels like a dam is blocking everything.

I set my journal down, lifting my head.

The sun is shining bright, but the shade of the leaves protects me. The air keeps me warm, though.

I look at my house, which is gray with white trim and a black roof.

Potted plants are sprinkled around the perimeter. Their vibrant colored blooms bring splashes of beauty to an otherwise dull canvas.

I smile.

Sometimes, I forget I live in such a lovely nature-influenced setting as I spend much of my time sitting at my dark brown writing desk, often eyeing my computer screen.

So, instead of writing, I begin drawing.

I first focus on the shapes of my home; the different curves and angles capture my attention.

Then, I work on shading. It's challenging without my charcoal pen, but I don't want to break off my flow.

Once I finish my drawing, ideas begin trickling in, and I begin jotting them on a fresh page.

At last, I can write!

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Like, shares, follows, tips, pledges, and subscriptions are always cherished. :)

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.