Poets logo

The day my world changed because of balloons

My 1st Mission Trip

By Kelly HornePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
2
The day my world changed because of balloons
Photo by Danilo Batista on Unsplash

We use balloons in celebrations

Birthdays, weddings, graduations

But the most precious balloons I recall

Were not really anything special at all

.

My first mission trip was to Africa

Away from my home in America

I had never been on a plane before

But four planes later I learned to soar

By Adolfo Félix on Unsplash

When we arrived at our destination

There was a collective elation

Ours from finally being on solid ground

Our new friends from us being safe and sound

.

I was not allowed to tote my own suitcase

I would soon find it to be just a taste

Of the hospitality and love we would be shown

From these new friends I had never known

.

We came to show God's love to those we met

However it was I who will never forget

How His love shined through those I barely knew

In a place they called home, in Kisumu

.

We next went to Malava, a small town

This was where the orphanage was found

This is where I saw balloons in a new light

Not just for playing or for letting take flight

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

We went to the home where flipflops were left

In a pile at the entrance in a bit of a mess

It was a puzzle to figure out which shoes

Were a match, and which pair was whose

Actual photo from our trip of the front of the orphanage.

Yet these precious children were so disciplined

They lined up and were smart and listened

To anything we taught or said or read

But it was us all along who were blessed instead

.

The balloons were an easy item to pack

Something simple to share, much easier than the sack

of soccer balls that also were given out

That brought so much joy as their faces left no doubt

.

The balloons though, just a simple piece of latex

Has me still remembering the effects

Of watching the younger children laugh and play

While the older ones made choices for a future day

My teen and the preacher of our church tying the balloons and attaching a ribbon.

You see balloons are not meant to be a long term toy

They are meant for just a brief moment of joy

But the older children who knew that they would soon pop

Chose to untie and save them instead of playing nonstop

.

My children have balloons at celebrations

Even when there's no special situations

They all would be inflated at once and enjoyed

I have never felt like it was a waste when they were destroyed

.

But after watching the careful consideration

Put into saving just a regular decoration

I really felt the wondrousness of it all

To worry of keeping something so small

.

But when you have little to claim as your own

Not even your flipflops are truly yours alone

Then when you are given even a little thing

It can be something that means everything

.

.

If you liked this poem... if it tugged at your heartstrings even a little and you see fit to donate, don't tip me. Instead how about visiting this website:

https://pfwb.org/missions-projects/kenya/

Then pick Kenya, Nakuku after you click the red donate button about middle of the page. Kenya is the place where the orphanage is and Benjamin Nakuku is the lead pastor for that area.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Kelly Horne

Married. Loving mother to my daughter and son. Full time employee of local government office as an Admin Asst. Currently in process of obtaining my Master's Degree in Library Science.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.