Poets logo

The Day I Felt Pure Terror

Cyclone Yasi : the night it hit

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
16
The Day I Felt Pure Terror
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

I woke one morning to a text message

There’s a cyclone sitting off our foreshore,

They had named it Cyclone Yasi

Oh no, we’ve certainly been here before.

***

To give you a little bit of background

It was only a short 5 years before,

That Cyclone Larry, Category 5

Come and visited our shore.

***

Our luck held while we hid in my house

But troublesome Larry lifted up my roof,

Everything inside was totally destroyed

My house, no longer weatherproof.

***

Two years we patiently waited

For the extensive house repairs,

Though the finish product is stronger

A much better state of affairs.

***

However, all this took a toll on us

So when Yasi was sighted out there,

I naturally worried for my boys and I

As this turned into a nightmare.

***

The news was reporting that Cyclone Yasi

A Category 5, three times the size of Larry,

Would cross that night and visit awhile

No doubt it was going to get hairy.

***

I started to be concerned

The later and later it become,

I was too close to the beach

To be confident of the outcome.

***

Not safe to ride this out in my house,

But no evacuation places nearby,

A friend invited me to her place

As it was easier and safer to fortify.

***

It was getting closer to the sun setting

When I started to feel fear,

How would my boys and I survive

This powerful destructive atmosphere?

***

I was told that our government

Had very little, if any, confidence

They flew in 20,000 body bags,

Not surviving was a real consequence.

***

It was after that horrific news

That I started to feel pure terror,

I only hoped we’d done enough

But it was all trial and error.

***

I thought it was going to be

Impossible to survive,

We couldn’t outrun this beast

Our only hope was to hide.

***

I sent off text messages to my family

While we still had mobile coverage,

I was silently saying my goodbyes

While trying to boost up my courage.

***

When it hit, it hit us hard

For 16 hours straight,

The noise was unimaginable

Like a train carrying freight.

***

Sixteen hours is a long time

For sheer terror to take hold,

There were many times that night

The universe was uncontrolled.

***

As I’m penning this account

It’s obvious we come out the other side,

My part of the world was devastated

But thankfully we all survived.

***

Two weeks without power

Complicated the recovery,

But I could now handle anything

We were alive, all else a luxury.

***

I’ve included below the tracking map, showing the path Cyclone Yasi took, directly over the top of us in Mission Beach Australia.

http://www.bom.gov.au/cyclone/history/yasi.shtml

*******************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

heartbreak
16

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • stephanie cetoute2 years ago

    very nice.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.