Poets logo

The Day I Became a Cloud

A poetic portrait of grief in an Abecedarian

By D.K. ShepardPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
4
The Day I Became a Cloud
Photo by Dallas Reedy on Unsplash

After our goodbye, that’s when it appeared.

Barely noticed at first, floating gray wisps,

Cumulonimbus it became, lightning,

Darkening, should have been alarmed, wasn’t.

Especially since its shape was like yours

Fancied it was you back where you belong.

Gradually it migrated closer

Hovering so near, heartbeat-like thunder.

I didn’t resist when it kept inching,

Just let it envelope me, absorb me,

Kissed by its mist, rattled by its tempest,

Letting it obscure my eyes, fill my mouth,

Matching storms mingling, merging to be one

Never your shape, all this time it was mine.

Only too late did I see the danger,

Pried free from my own bones, I’d been replaced.

Quite strange, to be the cloud and it be me.

Reaching down, fighting against the rising

Skyward bound for being unsuspecting

Tethered below by a single gold thread

Unraveling with me, but still secure,

Veil torn, you’re gone, but not for good, I pull.

Welcomed back to myself as truth triumphs,

Xanthic rays of sun I feel, clouds abate

Yearning for you, yes, always, yet at peace

Zenith reached by standing on solid ground.

Elegy
4

About the Creator

D.K. Shepard

Character Crafter, Witty Banter Enthusiast, World Builder, Unpublished novelist...for now

Fantasy is where I thrive, but I like to experiment with genres for my short stories. Currently employed as a teacher in Louisville.

dkshepard.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I thought at first it was a malevolent cloud but soon realised its metaphorical purpose.

  • Sarah Danaher4 months ago

    I do love the use of the Xanthic, it is the most difficult letter. Grief can make you feel like a cloud and getting back to the ground is most difficult. This is well done.

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler4 months ago

    Oh, D.K., someone once told me to 'feel' poetry, which is different from being in the moment when a piece of fiction is good, and I felt your poem. It's lovely AND, I learned a new word: Xanthic!

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    "Kissed by its mist" - liked that bit best!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.