Poets logo

The Darkness Within Us

Choosing Goodness Over Evilness

By R.FreyaPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like
The Darkness Within Us
Photo by Christophe Van der waals on Unsplash

Dear Humanity,

I write to you today with a heavy heart

For I have seen the darkness in your art

The cruelty, the violence, the pain

The way you hurt and harm, again and again

Oh, I know that evilness is not all you are

That there is goodness and love, near and far

But still, I cannot help but wonder why

You let the darkness in you grow and thrive

Is it fear that drives you, or maybe hate?

Is it greed or envy that seals your fate?

Whatever the cause, I beg of you, see

The harm you cause not just to others, but to thee

For every act of evilness, a piece of you dies

And you become less than you were, in heart and eyes

But there is hope, my dear humanity

For you have within you the power of divinity

You have the choice to love, to heal, to forgive

To let the light within you truly live

So choose wisely, my dear, dear friend

And let your goodness and light shine until the end

Sincerely,

Your Angel

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

R.Freya

Poetry is my soul's language, and I wield words like a paintbrush. From heartbreak to hope, I capture emotions and spin them into verse.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.