Poets logo

The Darkness of My Heart

A Poem

By Kimberly BeierPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

In the darkness of my heart he will wait

He will remain there as it is my fate

As I make my way down the street to the park

He remains cold and silent, rough and dark

The street lights flicker and there is a lightning flash

The creature inside me begins to thrash

I gaze at the rope as it sways on the tree

Knowing that soon I will be free

I stand beneath the noose, yet I remain calm

As I recite the words of my last psalm

I choke and gasp as I utter my last breath

For the darkness in my heart, his name is Death

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kimberly Beier

I’m a struggling college student who uses different forms of art to get away from the stresses of life. This, for me, can be a release of some emotions and maybe raise some college money at the same time, enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.