Poets logo

The Darkness Inside

a moments contemplation in time

By Robert Rawson Published about a month ago 1 min read
8
The Darkness Inside
Photo by Li Yang on Unsplash

There's a darkness that lives inside of me, it lays behind my eyes, the pain won't set me free, I keep coming and going to the dark side, it's making me sick inside.

Life's a constant battle or so it always seems, from the highest of highs to the lowest of lows, in the blink of an eye I never know which it'll be, I'll keep searching for you to end the darkness inside.

All the leaves in the autumn are falling from the trees, like days of my lifetime quickly falling from me, but if I can cling to the colours inside, I'll get through another day, trying to survive.

Yes I'm a fighter, I feel we all are, life ain't no picnic, no film or lullaby.

I don't smell of roses, even when I'm drinking wine, just masking the daytime trying to get to work on time.

I hear people's laughter it gives me chills inside, cos joy is a luxury I'm still trying to to find. But I'll keep searching for you to end this darkness inside.

We're all on a journey where we're trying to find, a torch for the darkness and reach the other side, we just keep on smiling not always facing the truth, that most of us are born just to work in the mill. So I'll just keep on smiling, turning the cogs of hope, cos I'll keep searching for you, I'll keep searching for you.

I'll keep searching for you

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Robert Rawson

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • SJ Covey16 days ago

    Fantastic writing—well done

  • Gloria Penelope22 days ago

    Good Job. I loved it!

  • This was very hopeful and optimistic. I loved it!

  • Kendall Defoe 24 days ago

    Keep fighting!

  • Heather Hubler24 days ago

    So very relatable in many ways. I especially felt this line, 'cos joy is a luxury I'm still trying to find.'

  • SJ Covey24 days ago

    I loved this, keep writing :D

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Keep searching but don’t force it or become discouraged. 😉

  • Alex H Mittelman about a month ago

    Fantastic! 💦

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.