Poets logo

The Comfort of Wholeness

Expanding enough to feel free enough to be small

By Oshin Oliviera Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Comfort of Wholeness
Photo by Riccardo Gazzin on Unsplash

The spirit of the wind whispers and giggles in my ear as wisps of it wander with me towards the ocean.

My dress is a piece of long, white cotton, and it ripples around my legs as I

inhale deeply, the pleasant scent of petrichor that steeps in the aqueous air.

The soil carries soft prints of my bare feet.

The elements are psychedelic and I am free,

as they commune with the flame that rises in my spine to warm me.

I let the identity informed by distortions, illusions, and forged beliefs

fall like a robe as I enter the steam of a dream.

The space between.

The fog that blends the earth into the sky into the sea.

My eyes move from beneath my mind,

up towards the remembering

that

I can dissolve the harsh lines that seem to separate me and become

all-encompassing, I can become

no-thing, for

ultimately, my body is fortuned to alchemize into ash,

yet the energy within me will never cease to

Be.

I will breathe through the sky and flow through streams.

I will bend light in the clouds to shine through casements and ignite fires in the hearts of beings.

I will be the wind accompanying a young woman towards the ocean as she

inhales deeply, the pleasant scent of petrichor that steeps in the aqueous air.

And for now, I delightedly allow

myself to explore my essence in this compacted state.

For now, I am the sky speeding through the countryside in a 2016 Ford Escape.

I am the stars kissing you gently under a bridge when it starts to rain.

I am the universe listening to dream pop in fleece socks.

I am the ocean filling my mouth with as much water as I can in the shower

because I’m pretending to be a fish.

inspirationalslam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Oshin Oliviera

Poetry makes sound the way the snow does. The heaviness falls softly onto your skin, until you are blanketed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.